Home > Departments > Science

Science

Science.jpg

SCIENCE DEPARTMENT

Science Department
In this Volatile, Uncertain, Complex and Ambiguous (VUCA) world, the ability to think critically and inventively will help students to be lifelong learners in this ever changing society. As Leonardo da Vinci once said, “Learning never exhausts the mind”. The Science Department is committed to enthuse Beattyians to embrace the joy of learning Science and to nurture Beattyians to be passionate and appreciate the importance of Science in everyday life.

Our strategy includes the use of real-world application contexts beyond textbooks to promote authentic learning. We also offer Science enrichment programmes to enable students to integrate information and concepts learned into their existing knowledge base and to apply that knowledge base to new problems and topics.

We offer several key department programmes and take part in several competitions. Five exciting examples of important department programmes that we offer include the lower secondary Science Environmental, Life Science Education Programme, Student Work Attachment Programme @ Singapore Science Centre, Science Buskers Festival, Science Day @ Beatty and the Engineering Innovation Challenge. In addition, two examples of competitions that we sign students up for include the Singapore Junior Physics Olympiad and the University of New South Wales International Competitions and Assessments for Schools Science Competition.

Department Teachers and Contacts
Name Email Contact no
Mr Yeo Chee Keong yeo_chee_keong_b@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 200
Mdm Stella Soh soh_ying_jing@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 159
Mdm Lim Yi Wen lim_yi_wen@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 135
Mdm Low Beng Hong low_beng_hong@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 134
Ms Ling Pei Ling ling_pei_ling@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 133
Mrs Alona Domingo domingo_alona_de_silva@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 171
Mrs Buvana Parthi buvana_ramalingam@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 135
Mr Chiang Heng Jaik chiang_heng_jaik@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 139
Ms Estella Chin estella_chin_ning@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 207
Mrs Glenda Chang chiang_cheow_hwee_glenda@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 136
Ms Jamie Ishwaral jamie_ishwarlal@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 137
Ms Jenna Lim lim_ying_yi_jenna@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 134
Mr Michael See see_chern_siong@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 205
Ms Pauline Fernandez fernandez_pauline_esther@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 136
Mrs Seah-Pay Ling Ling pay_ling_ling@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 159
Ms Serena Tan tan_hwee_hwee_serena@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 145
Mdm Siti Zubaidah siti_zubaidah_jumani@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 138
Mdm Tan Cheng Guat tan_cheng_guat@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 139
Mr Teng Jun Boon teng_jun_boon@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 145

Photos of Activities