Home > Departments > Science

Science

science department 2.png

 

The Science Department is committed to nurturing Beattyians to become problem-solvers with inquiring minds who contribute back to the community in the area of Science.

Programmes

For the Science Department, promoting the love for Science is paramount. Various programmes have been put in place to arouse our students’ interest in the learning of Science.

Lower Secondary Environmental and Life Science Education Programme

Secondary 1:

At the end of the programme, students will develop an understanding of how the growth and survival of an organism depends on physical conditions of their environment.


Secondary 2:

At the end of the programme, students will able to 

  • extract DNA from cells 
  • analyse and compare unknown DNA to a known sample 
  • deduce the criminal by comparing the different samples (DNA analysis, chromatography of pen ink, hair colour and texture, shoe prints) provided

Students’ Work Attachment @ Singapore Science Centre

Every year, selected secondary 3 students will be attached to Singapore Science Centre as part of work attachment. The objectives of the programme are to
  • allow students to apply what they have learnt from school in the work attachment 
  • allow students to pick up life skills such as communication skills, interpersonal skills and teamwork 
  • provide opportunities for students to gain practical experience in the working environment 
  • provide opportunities for students to explore their areas of interest 

Science Buskers Competition (Singapore Science Centre)

Every year, selected Sec 3 students will participate in the Science Buskers competition. Science Buskers is a festival that embraces the idea of developing students’ communication skills through science in creative ways. This event serves as an excellent platform to spread key messages related to the importance of spurring an interest in science. During the competition, contestants will "show-and-tell" on any science topic, and judging will be based on audience votes as well as judges' scoring. Through the competition, the school hopes to develop the joy of learning in our students, provide a platform to build our students’ confidence in public speaking and build teamwork.

Department Teachers and Contacts
Name of Teacher Email Contact no
 Mr Yeo Chee Keongyeo_chee_keong@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 200 
Mdm Lim Yi Wen lim_yi_wen@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 135
Mdm Low Beng Hong low_beng_hong@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 134
Mdm Stella Soh soh_ying_jing@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 159
Ms Ling Pei Ling ling_pei_ling@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 133
Mdm Tan Cheng Guat tan_cheng_guat@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 139
Mdm Siti Zubaidah siti_zubaidah_jumani@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 138
Mr Yong Yao Feng yong_yao_feng@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 127
Mrs Buvana Parthi buvana_ramalingam@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 135
Mrs Glenda Chang chiang_cheow_hwee_glenda@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 136
Mr Chiang Heng Jaik chiang_heng_jaik@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 139
Ms Pauline Fernandez fernandez_pauline_esther@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 136
Ms Jamie jamie_ishwarlal@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 137
Ms Jenna Lim lim_ying_yi_jenna@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 134
Ms Luar Shun Ying luar_shun_ying@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 131
Mrs Seah-Pay Ling Ling pay_ling_ling@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 159
Mr Teng Jun Boon teng_jun_boon@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 145
Mrs Sowaran Singh satvanti_saigal_sowaran@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 137
Mr Chio Wee Meng chio_wee_meng@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 138
Mrs Alona Domingo domingo_alona_de_silva@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 171
 Ms Estella Chinestella_chin_ning@moe.edu.sg  62569108 Ext 207
 Mr Michael See see_chern_siong@moe.edu.sg62569108 Ext 205 
 Mr Jerry Seahang_kim_san_jerry@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 221

Photos of Activities