Home > Departments > Mathematics

Mathematics

mathematics department 2.png

The Mathematics Department implements a rigorous curriculum to ensure that every student is competent in the subject. In line with the syllabus, the department promotes experiential learning, creative problem solving and the application of math in real-life situations. Teaching and learning is differentiated and catered to the needs of students.


Programmes

Enrichment Programmes

During the mid-year post-exam period, our Secondary 1 students gained firsthand experience in financial literacy through playing financial board games provided by Praxis. Through play, our students became aware of basic financial concepts such as saving from young.

Our Secondary 2 students went outdoors to apply math to solve real life problems. Secondary 2E students went on an iPad math trail at the Sports Hub and Secondary 2NA students went on a math trail at Changi Airport, and Secondary 2NT students attended a kite-making workshop. As a result, our students get to experience the useful application of math and learn creative problem solving skills.

Experiential Service Learning (ExSEL)

The ExSEL programme is designed to allow our NT students to apply math in creative ways while learning to care for others in the community, including those in other ASEAN countries.

In conjunction with International Friendship Day this year, Secondary 1T students with their math and CPA teachers put up a photo booth where students and teachers took photos with ASEAN landmarks as the background. Our Secondary 2T students applied their knowledge about nets to make souvenirs. Finally, our Secondary 3T students presented these souvenirs to Vietnamese students at Cao Thang Secondary School in Ho Chi Minh City, and carried out a community service project with the school.

Competitions

Singapore Math Olympiad (Junior)

Two Secondary 2 students received Honourable Mentions in the 2017 Singapore Mathematical Olympiad (Junior) - Cristina Ghale and Javier Tan

Math and Science B-Trail for Primary Schools

The B-Trail was held in our school on 22 February. It is a fun and educational competition organised annually by the Mathematics and Science Department teachers for Primary 5 and 6 students from Primary Schools in our cluster. The objective is to take students through an experiential learning journey around our school.

Department Teachers and Contacts
Teacher Email Contact no
Mr Lee Chau Loong lee_chau_loong@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 120
Mrs Cindy Samsol goh_siah_miang@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 215
Ms Joanna Chong chong_how_yan@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 203
Mrs Rose Ang
rose_ang@moe.edu.sg
62569108 Ext 216
Mr Lai Chee Kit lai_chee_kit@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 213
Mrs Buvana Prathi buvana_ramalingam@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 210
Mr Cheong Boon Wee cheong_boon_wee@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 214
Mr Bernard Lee lee_kuan_leng_bernard@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 215
Mr Luqman luqman_mohamed_ali@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 212
Ms Irene Ng ng_hoon_ling_irene@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 214
Mdm Nur Jeerah nur_jeerah_mohd_amin@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 216
Ms Ong Geok Leng ong_geok_leng@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 215
Mdm See Huey Yi see_huey_yi@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 212
Mr Sin Lai Keong sin_lai_keong@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 213
Mr Teo Chye Keong teo_chye_keong@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 213
Ms Yu Ling Ling yu_ling_ling@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 212
Mr Leong Soo Ching leong_soo_ching@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 208
Mr Xavier Ong ong_guo_lin@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 211
Ms Nur Rabiah nur_rabiah_ishak@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 171
Ms Dennesa Boon boon_ka_ling_dennesa@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 131
Ms Estella Chin estella_chin_ning@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 207
Mr Fazli muhammad_fazli_zulkifli@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 196
Mr Lee Song Lim lee_song_lim@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 209
Ms Liem Peng Lan peng_lan_liem@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 129
Ms Lim Mui Huan lim_mui_huan@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 195
Mr Matthias Tay tay_soo_thiam@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 194
Ms Yuen Shu Yan shu_yan_yuen@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 205

Photos of Activities