Home > Departments > Mathematics

Mathematics


mathematics department 2.JPG

The Mathematics Department aims to develop students’ competency and confidence in the subject through a rigorous curriculum that emphasises the application of mathematical concepts and skills in problem solving. This is in line with the greater emphasis placed in the national exams on the application of math to solve problems in real world contexts.
Teaching and learning is differentiated and catered to the needs of students.

Programmes
The Singapore Math Olympiad Training Programme (SMOP) provides the platform for students talented in Mathematics to shine in this competition. Secondary Two Express students who are strong in Math and keen in learning are selected for the training. Through this programme, our students develop their aptitude and mastery in Mathematics beyond the standard curriculum. Under the guidance of our professional Mathematics trainer, Ms Lim Siew Mei, 4 of our students received honourable mentions this year. Congratulations to Luke Yoong (2E1), Ambrose Tan (2E2), Goh Yan Zi (2E3) and Liong Qi Zhe (2E4)

Financial Literacy Programme
We have a fun-filled activity based series of financial literacy workshops from Sec 1 to 3 planned at the mid-year post-exam and at the end-of-year post-exam. Our students gained first-hand experience in financial literacy through playing fun financial board games, card games and other meaningful role playing games. Through play, our students become aware of basic financial concepts such as the importance of saving from young, business cycles and investments. They learn to differentiate between needs and wants, and learn to be savvy in managing their finances.

Competitions
  • Our students have taken part in some competitions and achieved reasonably good results.
  • IM2C (Singapore) Math Modelling Competition – Commendation: Thng Kai Siong Colby (3E1), Chin Yong Peng (3E2), Tan Xuanhao (3E2) and Alden Tan (3E3)
  • Jurong-Pioneer Junior College Challenge – Participation: Luke Yoong (2E1), Brielle
  • Mary Francois D Ang (2E1), Guai Li Xuan (2E1), Serene Ann Bravin (2E1), Zhu Zikun (2E3), Zhu Zihui (2E4), Claire Har Yu Lok (2E4), Bryan Soh Zhi Xuan (2E4)
  • Lower Sec CPA Animation Competition – Lim En Jia Metta (2T1) received GOLD award
  • Upper Sec CPA Game Design Competition – Lam Yu Yang (3T1) received Participation

Department Teachers and Contacts
Teacher Email Contact no
Mr Lee Chau Loong lee_chau_loong@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 120
Mrs Cindy Samsol goh_siah_miang@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 215
Ms Joanna Chong chong_how_yan@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 203
Mrs Rose Ang
rose_ang@moe.edu.sg
62569108 Ext 216
Mr Lai Chee Kit lai_chee_kit@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 212
Mrs Buvana Parthi buvana_ramalingam@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 135
Mr Bernard Lee lee_kuan_leng_bernard@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 215
Mr Luqman luqman_mohamed_ali@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 212
Ms Irene Ng ng_hoon_ling_irene@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 214
Mdm Nur Jeerah nur_jeerah_mohd_amin@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 216
Mdm See Huey Yi see_huey_yi@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 212
Mr Sin Lai Keong sin_lai_keong@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 213
Mr Teo Chye Keong teo_chye_keong@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 213
Mr Leong Soo Ching leong_soo_ching@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 211
Mr Xavier Ong ong_guo_lin@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 213
Ms Nur Rabiah nur_rabiah_ishak@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 171
Ms Dennesa Boon boon_ka_ling_dennesa@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 215
Ms Estella Chin estella_chin_ning@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 137
Mr Fazli muhammad_fazli_zulkifli@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 196
Mr Lee Song Lim lee_song_lim@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 210
Ms Liem Peng Lan peng_lan_liem@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 214
Ms Lim Mui Huan lim_mui_huan@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 195
Mr Matthias Tay tay_soo_thiam@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 194
Ms Yuen Shu Yan shu_yan_yuen@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 205

Photos of Activities