Home > Departments > Humanities

Humanities

humanities department 2.png
The Humanities, comprising Geography, History, Social Studies, Principles of Account and Elements of Business, provide multiple lenses to help students understand the world we live in where globalisation and rapid technological advancements are enhancing the connectedness and interdependency across countries. We equip students with critical thinking, responsible decision making and communication skills as well as global perspectives to become confident people, active contributors and concerned citizens. These skills are crucial in enabling our students to navigate the complexities of a rapidly changing world. 

Every student in Beatty Secondary School will develop an appreciation for and interest in the Humanities, and will learn how to read and think analytically, and be equipped with the necessary life skills and knowledge to become critical thinkers. 

Programmes
Critical Thinking Skills through Inquiry and Socratic Questioning 

These teaching strategies across all subjects give students varied learning experiences, cater to the unique learning style of each student and help students become better thinkers, and active and independent learners. 

Experiential Learning through local field studies and internationalisation 

Field studies and overseas cultural immersion promote compassionate and engaged learning by providing students with the opportunities to create, innovate and lead in a real-life environment. Cultural awareness of multiple perspectives and character values underpin these programmes. 

Humanities Challenge and NEmation 

Competitions like the Geography and History Challenge as well as NEmation offer a chance for participants to gain substantial experience, showcase skills, analyse and evaluate outcomes, and uncover personal aptitude. These competitions also encourage students to adopt innovative techniques and develop their ideas and skills.

Department Teachers and Contacts 
Name of teacher Email Contact
Mdm Azlina Ibrahim azlina_ibrahim@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 198
Ms Maggie Tan maggie_tan@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 130
Mrs Florence Ng chan_hui_lian@moe.edu.sg  62569108 Ext 123
 Ms Goh Hong Yi goh_hong_yi@moe.edu.sg   62569108 Ext 144
 Mr David Loh loh_wan_quan_david@moe.edu.sg   62569108 Ext 144
 Mr Chan Jen Wuu chan_jen_wuu@moe.edu.sg   62569108 Ext 140
 Mr Bobby Koh  koh_yee_ee_bobby@moe.edu.sg  62569108 Ext 128
 Mr Joel Lee lee_jian_liang_joel@moe.edu.sg   62569108 Ext 133
Mr Ibrahim   ibrahim_ad_latif@moe.edu.gs   62569108 Ext 132
 Ms Kang Li Ping kang_li_ping@moe.edu.sg   62569108 Ext 130
 Ms Foh Li Fen foh_li_fen@moe.edu.sg   62569108 Ext 140
Ms Ng Ying Hui   ng_ying_hui@moe.edu.sg  62569108 Ext 206
 Mr Matthias Tay tay_soo_thiam@moe.edu.sg  62569108 Ext 194
 Mdm Rosniati rosniati_zaharudin@moe.edu.sg  62569108 Ext 129
 Ms Shivaani shivaani_thiagayson@moe.edu.sg  62569108 Ext 132
 Ms Dennesa Boon boon_ka_ling_dennesa@moe.edu.sg  62569108 Ext 131
 Ms Liem Peng Lan peng_lan_liem@moe.edu.sg   62569108 Ext 129
 Mrs Jenny Poh goh_yoke_ling_jenny@moe.edu.sg  62569108 Ext 148
 Ms Lim Mui Huan  lim_mui_huan@moe.edu.sg  62569108 Ext 195
Ms Nadiah   nadiah_angelina_tan@moe.edu.sg  62569108 Ext 141
Mr Alexander Choy   choy_peng_yih_alexander@moe.edu.sg  62569108 Ext 126

Photos of Activities