Home > Departments > Humanities

Humanities

Humanities.jpg

HUMANITIES DEPARTMENT

The Humanities, comprising Geography, History, Social Studies and Elements of Business, provide multiple lenses to help students understand the world we live in where globalisation and rapid technological advancements are enhancing the connectedness and interdependency across countries. We equip students with critical thinking, responsible decision making and communication skills as well as global perspectives to become confident people, active contributors and concerned citizens. These skills are crucial in enabling our students to navigate the complexities of a rapidly changing world.

Every student in Beatty Secondary School will develop an appreciation for and interest in the Humanities, and will learn how to read and think analytically, and be equipped with the necessary life skills and knowledge to become critical thinkers.

Programmes
Critical Thinking Skills through Inquiry and Socratic Questioning

These teaching strategies across all subjects give students varied learning experiences, cater to the unique learning style of each student and help students become better thinkers, and active and independent learners.

Experiential Learning through local field studies and internationalisation

Field studies and overseas cultural immersion promote compassionate and engaged learning by providing students with the opportunities to create, innovate and lead in a real-life environment. Cultural awareness of multiple perspectives and character values underpin these programmes.

Humanities Challenge and Model United Nations Conferences

Competitions like the Geography and History Challenge and conferences like the Model United Nation offer a chance for participants to gain substantial experience, showcase skills, analyse and evaluate outcomes, and uncover personal aptitude. These opportunities also encourage students to adopt innovative techniques and develop their ideas and skills.

Department Teachers and Contacts
Name Email Contact
Mdm Azlina Ibrahim azlina_ibrahim@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 198
Mrs Florence Ng chan_hui_lian@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 123
Ms Wee Yuting wee_yuting@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 130
Ms Adrianna Wong wong_yuyi_adriana@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 126
Mr Bobby Koh koh_yee_ee_bobby@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 129
Mr Chan Jen Wuu chan_jen_wuu@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 140
Ms Chong Zhen Yi chong_zhen_yi@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 142
Ms Dawne Zhuang zhuang_huizhi_dawne@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 148
Ms Ellie Soh soh_yu_bin@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 158
Mr Ibrahim Ab Latif ibrahim_ad_latif@moe.edu.gs 62569108 Ext 132
Ms Jessica Kang  kang_pei_yi_jessica@moe.edu.sg  62569108 Ext 131
Mr Lai Ern Chuen lai_ern_chuen@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 218
Mr Matthias Tay tay_soo_thiam@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 194
Mdm Nadiah Tan nadiah_angelina_tan@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 144
Ms Nadirah Sharin nadirah_bte_sharin@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 204
Ms Oh Ying Jie ying_jie_oh@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 131
Mdm Rosniati Zaharudin rosniati_zaharudin@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 130
Ms Shivaani Thiagayson shivaani_thiagayson@moe.edu.sg 62569108 Ext 132
Mdm Tan Ming Hui Ms Tan Ming Hui 62569108

Photos of Activities