Home > Departments > Aesthetics & Technology

Aesthetics & Technology


aesthetics and technology department 2.jpg

 

The Aesthetics and Technology Department is committed to nurturing Beattyians to be creative and critical thinkers as well as self-directed learners.

Programmes


Art


Art education aims to enable every child to be visually literate and to appreciate art through observing, meaning-making, communicating, and valuing artwork as well as the art-making process.

Based on the framework of Seeing, Expressing and Appreciating, students are given opportunities to observe their environment, generate ideas, create artwork, discuss art and evaluate the role of art in society.

The Art Unit organises the following programmes and activities for the students to take part in:
  • Lower Secondary Art Learning Journeys 
  • Basic and Advanced Ceramics Workshop (for Upper Secondary Art students) 
  • Aesthetics Showcase 
  • SYF Art Exhibition and other art competitions 

Design and Technology


Design and Technology (D&T) education aims to nurture a specific way of thinking and doing in our students allowing for designer dispositions through design-and-build projects.

Central to D&T learning is the design process which requires students to apply basic design and technology knowledge and design thinking skills.

The highlights of the D&T programme include:

  • ICT Enrichment Workshops on Presentation Drawings (for Upper Secondary D&T students)
  • Secondary 1 Design Camp
  • D&T Pupils Seminar
  • Aesthetics Showcase
  • D&T Competitions

Nutrition and Food Science (NFS)


Food and Consumer Education (FCE), formerly known as Home Economics, was launched in 2014 for all Lower Secondary students. The FCE syllabus aims to educate students to be health-conscious and discerning consumers, thus enabling them to better manage their lives in the present and the future.

The aim of the NFS Unit is to educate students on how individuals and families can optimise their food materials. Students will also learn how to capitalise on financial resources and time to meet their physical, mental, social and economic needs.

As part of the NFS Programme, students also took part in NFS-related competitions and activities this year which include:

  • Sandwich/salad competition organised by Keat Hong CC Women’s Executive Committee
  • Caloric Hunt competition organised by Ngee Ann Polytechnic
  • Mocktail making activity for the Aesthetics Showcase

 

Music


The General Music Programme (GMP) is offered to all Lower Secondary students in Beatty Secondary. It is a key platform that provides every child with a basic music education, giving them opportunities to develop a connection to music. This contributes to the future development and preservation of Singapore’s cultural heritage.

The highlights of the GMP include:

  • Sec 1 STOMP Music Module
  • Sec 2 Guitar Music Module
  • Post-Examination Music Activities
  • Lunchtime Concert and Music Jamming Sessions during Aesthetics Week

 

Department Teachers and Contacts


Name of Teacher

Email add

Contact no

Ms Joanna Peh

joanna_peh_hui_ling@moe.edu.sg

62569108 Ext 201

Mdm Toh Pei Ling

toh_pei_ling@moe.edu.sg

62569108 Ext 204

Mr Fabian Wong

wong_kok_siang@moe.edu.sg

62569108 Ext 204

Mrs Han Nam Toon

han_nam_toon@moe.edu.sg

62569108 Ext 205

Mr Michael See

see_chern_siong@moe.edu.sg

62569108 Ext 205

Mr Tay Boon Leong

tay_boon_leong@moe.edu.sg

62569108 Ext 204

Ms Yuen Shu Yan

yuen_shu_yan@moe.edu.sg

62569108 Ext 205

Ms June Ang

ang_li_ping_june@moe.edu.sg

62569108 Ext 208

Ms Farah Yusop

farah_mohamed_yusop@moe.edu.sg

62569108 Ext 209

Mdm Janne Ng

janne_ng_ling_ling@moe.edu.sg

62569108 Ext 209

Ms Siti Nur Hajjar

siti_nur_hajjar_mohammad@moe.edu.sg

62569108 Ext 208

Ms Marhainy Rohmat

marhainy_rohmat@moe.edu.sg

62569108 Ext 207

Ms Nurhayati Ahmad

nurhayati_ahmad@moe.edu.sg

62569108 Ext 206

Ms Raja Sharidah

raja_shahridah_raja_suhaini@moe.edu.sg

62569108 Ext 205

Mr Yap Wei Qi Vincent

yap_wei_qi_vincent@moe.edu.sg

62569108 Ext 205

Ms Ng Ying Hui

ng_ying_hui@moe.edu.sg

62569108 Ext 206


Photos of Activities